Seth Kaller, Inc.

Inspired by History

Other Abraham Lincoln Offerings


Other African American History Offerings


Congressional Copy of The 13th Amendment
Signed by Abraham Lincoln (SOLD)
Click to enlarge:

“Neither Slavery nor involuntary servitude, except as a punishment for crime, whereof the party shall have been duly convicted, shall exist within the United States…”

ABRAHAM LINCOLN. Document Signed (“Abraham Lincoln”) as President, [Washington, D.C., ca. February 1, 1865]. Co-signed by Hannibal Hamlin as Vice President of the United States and President of the Senate, Schuyler Colfax as Speaker of the House, 37 of the 38 senators and 114 of the 119 Congressmen who voted for it. One of six or seven known “Congressional” copies of the Thirteenth Amendment signed by Lincoln and members of the Senate and House who voted in favor of the resolution [and one of thirteen or fourteen known copies signed by Lincoln]. 1 page, 20 5/8 x 15 3/8”, engrossed on lined vellum.

Inventory #21902       SOLD — please inquire about other items

This amendment, outlawing slavery and involuntary servitude, was the first change made to the Constitution in over sixty years, and the first substantive change to America’s conception of its liberties since the Bill of Rights was ratified in 1791.



Thirty-Eighth Congress of the United States.


    A Resolution: Submitting to the Legislatures of the several States a proposition to amend the Constitution of the United States.

    Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled, (two-thirds of both houses concurring,) That the following article be proposed to the Legislatures of the several States as an Amendment to the Constitution of the United States, which, when ratified by three-fourths of said Legislatures, shall be valid, to all intents and purposes, as a part of the said Constitution, namely:


   Section 1. Neither Slavery nor involuntary servitude, except as a punishment for crime, whereof the party shall have been duly convicted, shall exist within the United States, or any place subject to their jurisdiction.

   Section 2.  Congress shall have power to enforce this article by appropriate legislation.

            Schuyler Colfax

Attest:                                                                       Speaker of the House of Representatives

                   J.W. Forney                                                                     H Hamlin

Secretary of the Senate                     Vice President of the United States

Ewd. McPherson                                                        and President of the Senate.

     Clerk of the House of Representatives.

 Approved February 1, 1865  Abraham Lincoln


[Transcript continued]

[Note: names below are listed in full, rather than in transcript format]


In the Senate, April 8, 1864.

Dixon, James Clark, Daniel Morgan, Edwin D. Fessenden, William P.*
Hale, John Parker Conness, John Howard, Jacob M. Willey, Waitman T.
Pomeroy, Samuel C. Foster, Lafayette S. Ramsey, Alexander Sumner, Charles
Harris, Ira Wilson, Henry Nesmith, James W. Sprague, William
Johnson, Reverdy Cowan, Edgar Lane, Henry Smith Trumbull, Lyman
Morrill, Lot M. Van Winkle, Peter G. Foot, Solomon  
Collamer, Jacob Chandler, Zachariah Sherman, John Anthony, Henry B.
Henderson, John B. Howe, Timothy O. Wilkinson, M. S. Lane, James Henry
Grimes, James W. Harlan, James Doolittle, James R. Ten Eyck, John C.
Fessenden, William P.* Brown, Benjamin G.    Wade, Benjamin F.


In the House of Representatives, January 31, 1865.

Stevens, Thaddeus Eliot, Thomas D. Pike, Frederick A. Pomeroy, Theodore M.
Van Valkenburgh, R. Jenckes, Thomas A. Kasson, John A. Tracy, Henry W.
Marvin, James M. Allison, William B. Miller, Samuel F. Longyear, John W.
Loan, Benjamin F. Hale, James T. Davis, Henry Winter McClurg, Joseph W.
Myers, Leonard Boyd, Sempronius Norton, Jesse O. Wilson, James F.
Morrill, Justin S. Rollins, Edward H. Thayer, M. Russell Deming, Henry C.
Driggs, John F. McBride, John R. Griswold, John A. Donnelly, Ignatius
Davis, Thomas T. Hulburd, Calvin T. Rice, Alexander H. Brandegee, Augustus
Blow, Henry Taylor Boutwell, George S. Hooper, Samuel Windom, William
Higby, William Hotchkiss, Giles Smithers, Nathaniel Clarke, Freeman
Worthington, Henry [?] Gasson, J. Knox, Samuel Littlejohn, DeWitt C.
Broomall, John M. Williams, Thomas Cobb, Amasa Kelley, William D.
Baxter, Portus Baldwin, John D. Orth, Godlove S. Shannon, Thomas B.
Ashley, James M. Morris, Daniel Hubbard, John H. Eckley, Ephraim R.
Spalding, Rufus P. Baldwin, Augustus Scofield, Glenni W. Blair, Jacob B.*
King, Austin A. Hutchins, Wells A. Nelson, Homer A. Hubbard, Asahel W.
Perham, Sidney Randall, William H. Whaley, Kellian V. Price, Hiram
Upson, Charles Dawes, Henry L. Gooch, Daniel W. Washburn, William B.
Kellogg, Orlando Beaman, Fernando McAllister, Archibald Sloan, Ithamar C.
Wilder, A. Carter Brown, William G. O'Neill, Charles Patterson, James W.
Myers, Amos Thomas, Francis Ingersoll, Ebon C. Cole, Cornelius
Arnold, Isaac W. Rice, John H. Washburne, Elihu B. Herrick, Anson
English, James E. Dixon, Nathan F. Colfax, Schuyler Odell, Moses F.
Ames, Oakes Frank, Augustus Rollins, James S. Farnsworth, John F.
Kellogg, Francis W. Garfield, James A. Blair, Jacob B.* Anderson, Lucien
Moorhead, James K. Woodbridge, Fred. Bailey, Joseph Steele, John B.
Webster, Edwin H. Yeaman, George H. Schenck, Robert C. Alley, John B.
Smith, Green C. Blaine, James G. Grinnell, Josiah B. Wheeler, Ezra
Coffroth, Alex. Clark, Ambrose W.   Creswell, John


*Duplicate signatures   


There are no known copies signed by each of the 38 Senators and 119 Congressmen who voted for the amendment.

This document was not signed by Senator Benjamin Franklin Harding of Oregon; on January 30th, he had been granted a leave of absence for the remainder of the session. Senator William Pitt Fessenden, who by February of 1865 was serving as Secretary of the Treasury (he would submit his resignation on February 6 and resume a Senate seat on March 4, 1865), did sign this document, but did not sign the “Senate” copies.

Representatives G.W. Julian, W.D. McIndoe, W. Radford, J.F. Starr, E. Dumont, and J. Ganson (though his name is penciled in), did not sign here.